Salem Police Department


The police department of each city shall be composed of a chief of police and such other officers, patrolmen, and employees as the legislative authority thereof provides by ordinance (ORC 737.05).

The chief of police shall have exclusive control of the stationing and transfer of all patrolmen, auxiliary police officers, and other officers and employees in the police department, and police auxiliary unit, under such general rules and regulations as the director of public safety prescribes (ORC 737.06).

The police force of a municipal corporation shall preserve the peace, protect persons and property, and obey and enforce all ordinances of the legislative authority of the municipal corporation, all criminal laws of the state and the United States, and all court orders issued and consent agreements approved pursuant to sections 2919.26 and 3113.31 of the Revised Code. Both the police and fire departments shall perform any other duties that are provided by ordinance (ORC 737.11).

Chief: J.T. Panezott Ext.: 241

Salem's Police Department operates 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, under the direction of Chief J.T. Panezott, to provide the finest protection available. Currently, the force consists of 20 full-time sworn officers and 6 part-time, including the Chief, 1 Administrative Lieutenant, 2 Lieutenants, 4 Seargents, and 11 Patrolmen. The department also has a support staff consisting of 6 Part-time Dispatchers, substitute dispatchers, and school crossing guards. We also have an Auxiliary Police Department, which operates under the direction of Auxiliary Chief Steve Zepernick. The Police Department logo is the "Quaker Lady," and their motto is "To protect and serve."